About KAAN

The Kansas Academic Advising Network traces its origin back to 1993 when a small group of individuals came together to determine if a state organization would be beneficial in Kansas to support academic advising.

There were 78 charter members who attended the first organizational meeting. After this meeting, it was decided that it would be beneficial to gather the Kansas advisors together to discuss advising-related issues and create a professional network.

The charter members determined that a conference would be held at Wichita State University on September 24, 1993.

The annual conference grew with institutions across the state, and the founders determined that they should become an official organization. They aligned the KAAN organization with the National Academic Advising Association and became an allied member.

A set of bylaws were adopted and 501(c)(3) status was received.

The strength and organization of KAAN has not only maintained a valuable advising tradition, but has also hosted regional conferences for NACADA Region 7.

The key to success for KAAN has always been the advisors who have served the organization in leadership roles and as active members. The knowledge and experiences shared within the organization continues as we gather each year for our annual conference.


The mission of KAAN is to support and provide for professional development for academic advisors throughout the State of Kansas, establish a communication network among institutions of higher education regarding the development of the academic advising profession, establish a liaison to and relationships with other professional organizations and groups and support the goals and programs of the National Academic Advising Association.

In addition, KAAN supports and promotes the CAS Standards and Core Values as outlined by NACADA.

KAAN is organized exclusively for charitable, religious, educational, and scientific purposes, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations that qualify as exempt organizations under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or the corresponding section of any future federal tax code.


The purpose of the Kansas Academic Advising Network is to increase recognition for academic advising and to support the development and professional growth of academic advisors in higher education in Kansas.

KAAN serves a constituency, which includes academic advisors, counselors, faculty members, administrators, and others in academic and student affairs who are concerned with the intellectual, personal, and vocational needs of students.

KAAN is the representative and advocate of academic advisors in universities, colleges, community colleges, technical colleges and schools, both public and private, and is a forum for discussion, debate, and the exchange of ideas.

 KAAN Chairs

2016-2017 Heather Moore
2015-2016 Beth Stuewe
2014-2015 Patricia Griffin
2013-2014 Patricia Griffin
2012-2013  Rebecca Roach
2011-2012  Kim Leibold
2010-2011  Jody Johnson
2009-2010  Tammara Durham
2008-2009  Abby Coffin
2007-2008  Robert Pettay
2006-2007  Becky Boyd
2005-2006  Pamela Erickson
2004-2005  Caroline Fox
2003-2004  Glenn Lygrisse
2002-2003  Steve Howey
2001-2002  Jill Hieb
2000-2001  Patricia Griffin
1999-2000  Dwight Moore
1998-1999  Rich Robbins
1997-1998  Gerry Lichti
1996-1997  Gerry Lichti
1995-1996  Pam Houston
1994-1995  Joe VanZandt
1993-1994  Bob Goltra

Conference History

2016 University of Kansas Edwards Campus
2015 Fort Hays State University
2014 Emporia State University
2013 McPherson, Kansas
2012 Pittsburg State University
2011 Lawrence, Kansas
2010 Salina, Kansas
2009 Wichita State University
2008 Johnson County Community College
2007 Fort Hays State University
2006 Washburn University
2005 Kansas State University
2004 Wichita State University
2003 University of Kansas
2002 Hutchinson Community College
2001 Johnson County Community College
2000 Fort Hays State University
1999 Emporia State University
1998 Washburn University
1997 Washburn University
1996 Emporia State University
1995 Wichita State University
1994 Emporia State University
1993 Wichita State University

Share this: